Montelanico


Coat of arms of Montelanico

Montelanico lies in a valley surrounded by mountains covered with chestnut woods. Its name has a curious origin: in one version a shepherd had shorn a sheep that had so much wool that it created a 'wool mountain'. Others say the name comes from the Roman family of the Metelli.

The town winds along the road leading from Colleferro to Carpineto and Mount Semprevisa, the highest of the Lepine Mountains.

The first mention of the village came in a bull of Pope Anastasius IV in which a castrum of Montelanico is mentioned as belonging to the church. Subsequently it was placed under the control of the diocese of Segni and finally placed under the control of the Counts of Ceccano who exercised control up to 1428.

In that year Montelanico passed by inheritance to the Counts of Segni, and for two centuries there was a struggle for possession of the fiefdom until in 1640 the Barberini family came. A few years later the Pamphili family took over and finally the Aldobrandini of Carpineto.

A curiosity: the first mayor after the unification of Italy, named Don Francesco Raimondi, was a priest who had had misadventures with the Papal States.

In the main square is the Fountain of the Faune, built in Liberty style by Morolo Ernesto Biondi. The fountain presents three bronze ‘baby angels’ facing the water font poured from the fourth angel in the centre.



Typical Dishes 

"J'appallocco" is a special porridge which is topped with beans, pork rind or dried beans. It was the typical dish of shepards in Lepini Mountains area and...

Archeotourism 

The medieval castle of Pruni is apparently part of the system built to control this territory around the year 1000 when it belonged to the Duchy of...
Festivals 

The third weekend of October, the center of Montelanico is dedicated to the queen of the woods: the local chestnut. The Local Chestnut Festival (sagra della...
Celebrations 

This festival "Short Movies are Coming" (arrivano i corti) of Montelanico was born in 1997 to promote the 'Glocal' culture or 'think global and act local'. It...
Religious Celebrations 

On the third Sunday of September, the day of the patron saint of Montelanico. The Madonna del Soccorso is celebrated with a pilgrimage to the ancient...

The patron saint Michael Archangel of Montelanico is celebrated on the last weekend of September with 3 days of great celebrations. The religious part...

Churches & Places of Worship 

The chapel of the Gonfalone is located in Piazza Vittorio Emanuele in Montelanico. You could admire a sixteenth century painting depicting the Saviour that...

The church of Santa Maria del Soccorso is located in Montelanico at the foot of the village near the river Rio.  It owes its name to the discovery of a...
Architecture and monuments 

In the Piazza Vittorio Emanuele in Montelanico is the town hall palace. It was owned by the important  Rosetti family which were involved in both the...

The fountain of fawns is a sculpture in Art Nouveau style by Ernesto Biondi and is located in Piazza Vittorio Emanuele at the entrance of the village of...

Meet Special People 

Romeo Castellucci and his brothers left the small village of Montelanico when he was 17, but he never managed to cut the umbilical cord that still feeds his...
Music 

The Parquaria Folk Group (PGF) are a group specialising in Popular Music that was founded in 2003 to raise awareness of the literary and musical culture of...
Blog 

All in the square in connection with Montelanichesi from all over the world from: USA, Argentina, Australia, Canada, Germany, Greece, France, England, Holland...

The second edition of the Fjallstein Vikingr Festival took place in Montelanico, three days immersed in a magical atmosphere that transformed Montelanico into...

Regional products: LAZIO

There are not products in the Shop for this region.

Town Ambassador
Discover your italian Roots

 

Subscribe to Newsletter

Discover a territory through the emotions of the people that have lived it.